chips n gravy

AUGUST DARING BAKERS CHALLENGE- Hungarian Dobos Torte

Posted on: September 2, 2009

my version of the torte

The August 2009 Daring Bakers’ challenge was hosted by Angela of A Spoonful of Sugar and Lorraine of Not Quite Nigella. They chose the spectacular Dobos Torte based on a recipe from Rick Rodgers’ cookbook Kaffeehaus : Exquisite Desserts from the Classic Caffés of Vienna, Budapest, and Prague.

I apologise for the late post. This is my first DB Challenge and being late as well as well as not exactly happy about having a cake (due to my inept baking skills) to boot was not exactly the kind of start I want to be a DB’er.  Anyway, the reason for the late post was due to me down with what I initially thought was a bad case of cold and headache was actually a sinus infection. After a visit to the doctor, I developed a reaction to the prescribed antibiotics. I woke up in the middle of the night having chest pains. It was so painful I thought I was having a heart attack. So I had to go to the docs again to ease the reaction and being prescribed new drugs. This has been 6 days ago, and today I finally felt better for the first time in close to 2 weeks since the symptoms started.

In between the sinus ordeal, bad weather, organising everything in preparation to welcome my new baby girl this coming Sunday, (don’t be alarmed, I am not giving birth, just getting my piggy girl a much needed companion) .

I will be adopting from the Melbourne charter of the Australian Cavy Sanctuary, a small privately run shelter that is supported by volunteers and fellow guinea pigs lovers. I wanted to take the time out to mention that, animals of any kind deserves our respect and care as with any other human beings. G-Force, the movie about guinea pigs doing all sorts of things may boost guinea pigs sale throughout the world, but I just want to say that, guinea pigs overbreeding is a major problem throughout the US, UK and even here in Australia. At any given time right now, each of these private shelters that is ran out of their love for guinea pigs are looking after more than 100s of pigs at a time. So, if you are interested in getting a guinea pig after watching the movie, PLEASE, do your read up properly before getting one. It is not the same as getting a toy that you can just discard afterwards. Should you really want to get a piggy even after you have done the proper read up to understand the great responsibilities of caring for them, please adopt rather than buy. Buying only fuel more backyard breeders who breed and keep them in inhumane conditions. ACS has a really great support network, so when you adopt, you are not only just helping minimising the overbreeding and the vicious backyard breeder cycle, you are also joining a network of massive support at any given time should you and your piggy need it. We are a family.

Back to the torte.

My torte may not looked like the original Hungarian torte, but rest assured that it does taste the alright albeit less sickly because I did not use the actual buttercream recipe, but instead a buttercream that is although similar is based on the french pate a bombe. This happened because of two reasons; I was not keen to use so much butter and I had too much egg yolks left over from baking so much macarons.

I also skipped the caramel layer as from all the feedbacks from the forum, most of the girls were having problems with the top caramel layer and was not really impressed by it. So I made a burnt toffee caramel flavoured with some intense espresso to get that slight bitterness and made a “ganache” with it. This is then used as a filling in the macaron. Technically, that is my caramel layer.

Again, a play on salt. Salted crushed peanuts to give the extreme sweetness of this cake a much needed reprieve and also after the sweetness of the cake, my tasters were taken aback by the bitterness of the macarons on first bite. That said, the macarons with the bitter filling was a bigger hit than the cake.

4 Responses to "AUGUST DARING BAKERS CHALLENGE- Hungarian Dobos Torte"

I was wondering what happened. Good to hear that you are better and feeling more normal. Great news about the macarons they look lovely and the curry/coconut one looks especially wonderful. And the torta looks so yummy a very classy and elegant dessert love that streak of ‘caramel’ on the top of the torta. Hope your macaron business takes off. And yes you are right living pets aren’t toys and it is a serious task to have pets. I know I have fish and that is my limit. Cheers from Audax in Sydney.

thank you Audax. you are gracious as usual. Yes I feel quite bad that I was not able to publish this in time with it being the first one as well. I just feel so awful and I have lost 6 kg in one week because I just have no appetite and have this massive headache not to mention one hell of a bad nose.

Yes, after having my guinea pig, I have learned so much about their plight. It is amazing how much things people are taking for granted. Remember how “Nemo” was the rage once upon a time when the movie was a big hit? Sales of fishes were flying through the roof but then what happened next? I just do not want the same thing happened to the poor guinea pigs.

The torta was quite a challenge yes. I need more practise making cakes. Not as nice looking layers as yours. Looking forward to the next one. SPOILER: thank God its not hard.

I was wondering why you hadn’t posted! Hope you are feeling better! Your torta looks lovely – very glamorous! And the idea of the salted peanuts sounds great! And as always, your presentation is fantastic.

OMG, that plate is a work of art! Beautiful and tasty looking Dobos, so creative..almost too pretty to eat! Well done!

Leave a Reply

Archives

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

This site has been viewed:

  • 9,182 hits
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

