chips n gravy

boulette a la japonais

Posted on: July 2, 2009

gyoza

I had never been a big fan of dumplings, but living in Melbourne, the motto “if you want to eat something great, you have to make it yourself” has really stuck on. Frozen dumplings are dime a dozen in the various Melbournian Asian groceries, ranging from the myriad korean dumplings flavours to Japanese and the Chinese. Still, I was not keen to pay 7-18 aud just for frozen dumplings.  I find the price not justifiable. Also, as an ongoing re-education of my white man bf, there is only one conclusion. I have to make it myself with fresh ingredients.

Dumplings are actually easy to make and eat. The filling are just a matter of mixing all the various ingredients together and wrapping them with off the shelf skins. Simple, easy, and quick to put together kind of affordable, last minute or lazy meals. To make it extra special, I decided to make the skin myself as well as the filling. I find it a challenge to seal the dumplings. My short stint as a dim sum apprentice only resulted in making horribly disfigured har gows.

trying to create nice pleats in with the sealing

This time round, it was a therapeutic experience as I stand in my kitchen kneading, rolling and then pleating the dumplings. I cannot say that I have mastered the art of sealing the dumplings, but looking at the pictures, I have to say that it was a vast improvement from before. Therefore, I plan to make dumplings as a staple in my kitchen. It is easy as W, my partner, loves it very much. Also, as I am a perfectionist, I would really like to practise sealing them until I can have it as dainty as those you will see in your dim sum restaurants. You can make it in a large batch and just freeze the uncooked ones in the freezer for that next convinient meal/snack.

filling

the filling

The dumplings that I had made is my take on the Wafū Gyōza (“Wafū” meaning japanese style and “Gyōza” is how the Japanese pronounced the chinese Gyo ze). The exchange of culinary influences between Asian countries can be seen in each countries version of many dishes. Dumplings in Japan and Korea are the results of Chinese influence. Japan first credit the Chinese for their influence on the dumplings back in the 17th century and post-WWII Japan saw many a family stretching their small quantities of precious meats and other ingredients to make gyōza as a dinner staple. Today, gyōza has gone on to easily become one of the most internationally recognised Japanese dish.

The ingredients in the filling were quite long, it was a case of whatever was in my fridge that needed to be cleared and I certainly has quite a bit of them.

  • Minced pork
  • minced prawn
  • chopped shiitake mushroom
  • chopped water chestnut
  • finely chopped garlic
  • finely chopped young ginger
  • grated carrot
  • white part of spring onion- this is as a replacement for the Japanese leek, negi.
  • chiffonade of napa cabbage

and seasoned with few tablespoons of chicken stock to moisten the filling, as well as cornflour, sesame oil, salt, white pepper, sugar, soy sauce and sherry wine.

I also wanted to note that, this is a good way to make W eat mushrooms, ginger and prawns. Given in their original form, he would not eat any of them. For the skin, freshly made with mandoo flour were extremely soft and pliable. The maleability of the skin is definitely better than the generic supermarket skin.

tang mian flour

mandoo flour

In the end, for this post, I was feeling a little whimsical, so I caramelised some king oyster mushroom together with enoki with some imperial shoyu. I also made some dashi-shoyu broth to go along with it. W, being the fussy eater that he is, only get the pan fried gyoza.

garnished with thinly sliced spring onion. I would love to have some salmon roe as colour contrast

Wafū gyōza served in dashi scented broth accompanied by imperial shoyu glazed saesong-i beosut and enoki

Leave a Reply

Archives

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

This site has been viewed:

  • 10,278 hits
